Maharashtra first Assembly begins


  • A special session of the Maharashtra first Assembly begins
  • Pro tem Speaker Kalidas Kolambkar is giving the oath to legislators
  • Among those sworn in are Ajit Pawar, Chhagan Bhujbal, Ashok Chavan and Prithviraj Chavan

Maharashtra first Assembly begins, The swearing_in of members of the 14th Maharashtra Legislative Assembly on Wed marked a rare moment when the House assembled for the session without the form of a gov and appointment of the chief minister.

Also Read Shiv Sena, BJP has to choose their paths: Sharad Pawar

State Vidhan Bhawan’s in charge secretary Rajendra Bhagawat said PTI that during the last few of decades, the chief minister sworn in 1st followed by different members.

“The floor test is also then sent immediately or in the following session. In the instant case, no chief minister has been given an oath, but the swearing-in ceremony of House members held,” he noted.

“The Supreme Court’s interim decision has made it mandatory for us to carry out the swearing-in ceremony. Once the oath is administered all MLAs, the Assembly will come into motion without a head and the Cabinet,” he said.

Bhagawat further said once the chief minister takes the oath, he will have to make a Cabinet.

“The schedule of the following full session would be determined in the 1st Cabinet meeting. The floor examination will be held in that session,” he added.

A special session of the time Assembly began here on Wednesday morning to administer the oath to members in the 288-member House. Pro tem Speaker Kalidas Kolambkar is giving the promise to the legislators at the session.

Among those sworn in first were Ajit Pawar, Chhagan Bhujbal, Ashok Chavan and Prithviraj Chavan.

The newly elected members could not take an oath even a month after results of the Assembly polls were published due to dramatic political progress in the state.

Also Read: Indian Space Research Organisation successfully starts CARTOSAT 3, 13 nano-satellites From Sriharikota.

The state continued under President’s rule from Nov12 to 23 after no political party was able to form a government.

The Supreme Court on Tuesday ordered Governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari to select a pro tem speaker and secure all elected members of the House are sworn in on Wed itself by 5 pm.

The BJP-led government, which was created with the support of NCP leader Ajit Pawar on Nov 23, collapsed on Tuesday afternoon after Pawar passed down as deputy chief minister and Devendra Fadnavis as chief minister.

The ‘Maha Vikas Aghadi’, including the Shiv Sena, the NCP and the Congress, on Monday, presented a letter declaring support of 162 MLAs to the governor.

The NCP has stated that Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray would be the following chief minister of Maharashtra.

He will be maintained in as CM on Thursday night at the

Shivaji Park in Dadar, the place wherever his party holds the traditional Dussehra rally each year.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here